Bouncing Red Curls


Last night I went out and saw the new Disney movie Brave.
It did not disappoint in the Disney category of things, it satisfied the nostalgia in me as a kids movie and had both heart-breaking and heart-warming moments. I got misty eyed near the end. I will not spoil any details, but the storyline is not what I had thought it would be. Keep in mind that I had walked into this movie with no influence other than movie posters. 
That being said, the title “Brave” did not in my opinion sought the main story line. Yes, the main character Merida had to be a brave girl to do what she did, but her character didn’t develop bravery through the movie, nor did she have to overcome her fears at any point to do the things she did. Merida is instinctually brave throughout the movie. Her mother did not have to develop bravery really either, she had to adapt to the situation rather than be brave. Now, I realize Disney doesn’t have to think up any sort of amazing titles for their movies, but at least make it more relevant to the plot line. Finding Nemo hit it right on the nose, as does The Lion King, Monsters Inc. and countless others. So I pose the question, why settle on “Brave?”
I know that I can’t be too critical of Disney in the literary sense as it’s target audience is children and teenagers. My only real annoyance with the movie was the title, other than that I did enjoy myself.
So, if you feel like warming your heart and wanting to hug your mom by the end, Brave is a good choice.

Leave a Reply

