Just the get-away I was looking for.


Well, laides and gents I have been taking advantage of the Tuesday movie discount at Cineplex theatres. This week, Ted.

We had originally planned to go see The Amazing Spiderman, but as greed movie makers would not discount the revamped newly released over marketed masked hero we sought other means of entertainment.

Now, I was having a pretty awful day yesterday. I wont bore you with details, but needless to say I needed to get my mind off things. So I grabbed some of my best gals and we headed out to the movies. Image

Ted, despite being our alternate, was amazingly funny. I rarely burst out in laughter in theatres because the movies are generally not that funny. The last movie that had me in hysteria was Crazy Stupid Love. But with Ted I was laughing 80% of the time. My friend, (who will be known here on in as Tigger), had to sit in front of Cindy-Lou and me, said she heard me laughing over everyone in the audience. As I’m not prone to much embarrassment I smiled broadly at her.

Ted is the story of a young boy with no friends who makes a wish for his teddy bear to come to life. I comes true and they’re “best friends forever” from there on in. The movie shows how they’re friendship continues as adults. Needless to say, hilarity ensues.

The movie is written and directed by Seth MacFarlane, the creator of Family Guy. As I’ve come into my formative years I’ve lost my taste for the humor in Family Guy, but Ted was a new branch for MacFarlane, although it did resonate with some of the same humour it wasn’t all immature bodily function jokes (there were a few, but not enough to turn me off).

So, if you have a sense of humour and are will to bend the rules of reality in order to enhance said sense of humour go see Ted. You’ll be laughing before the first five minutes are up.

Leave a Reply

