Powerless to Resist


I’ve been procrastinating, avoiding my essays, readings and homework for class all week. Why? Because I’ve been powerless to resist reading Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder.

I few years ago I read her Poison Study trilogy and was just as enthralled. Then I read her Storm Glass trilogy , which takes place in the same universe. I was not as impressed with this one, truth be told the ending and the main character’s choices sort of pissed me off. But, I still had faith in Snyder so I went on to read her Sci-fi Inside Out, and its sequel Outside In. Not as riveting as her fantasy novels, but still an entertaining read. So naturally when Snyder came out with Touch of Power I bought it right away. Unfortunately life has gotten in the way of me reading it. So I finally got around to it. Image

Snyder has captured me with this delicious fantasy story just like she had with Poison Study. Of course the love story was a bit predictable, but honestly, what love story isn’t these days? However, the plot twists snagged my every attention. Snyder has a way of making you think you know what’s going to happen, you are lulled into a false sense of understanding, you think you have it all figured out. Then suddenly she hits you with a twist you weren’t expecting.

I couldn’t put the book down, I read until my body complained and I had to sleep. Snyder has a gift for fantasy, and I hope one day to match her talent.

Read Touch of Power for an amazing adventure that will keep you guessing and consume your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

