Not Exactly “Youth” Oriented


So blog-asphere, I’m still alive! If you can believe it. I realize I’ve been absent for the past month or so, but life is cracking down hard lately so my passions get pushed aside.

I did, however, manage to read a short little youth fiction called The Prince of the Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. The first novel I read by Zafon was Shadow of the Wind about six years ago. I loved it. I proceeded to tell everyone to read it. Being a scrappy teen at the time I didn’t think about authors as having more than one book unless I saw them in box set. (My brain just didn’t function properly or logically back then. Let’s blame it on the hormone cocktail that was stewing within me.) So, when my best friend recently told me that she finally got around to reading Shadow of the Wind, Zafon popped back into my head. She also showed me that Shadow of the Wind is in fact a trilogy. Which is also on my reading list.

But back to The Prince of the Mist. Originally I had picked up The Midnight Palace by Zafon at my local book store. Once home I realized that it was a sequel. I proceeded to curse myself for not checking that first and began to hunt for its predecessor, The Prince of Mist. Of course, lovely as book stores are, they didn’t seem to have this novel. Originally published in 1993 and reprinted in 2010, I could see why this book was so illusive. Finally I tracked it down on one for my favourite discount websites, The Book Depository.

The Prince of Mist is supposedly a “young” adult novel. I really despise the aging of books. If I wanted to read an adult fiction at thirteen I did, and if at twenty-two I want to read a book for twelve year olds I damn well will, and I’ll usually enjoy it too! Anyways, The Prince of Mist, while an easy read, is one of the creepier books I’ve read. Zafon has a flair for the eerie. His books generally involve the deaths of a few characters and mysteries you can’t help but finish out of curiosity. I wouldn’t recommend him to a younger crowd, due to the nightmares they’ll most likely endure if they read before bed.

Overall, The Prince of Mist is a quick, easy, read that keeps you on the edge of your seat, bed, hammock, beanbag chair, kitchen counter, staircase, grassy knoll, whatever it is you choose to read on.

Ps. If you are afraid of clowns I wouldn’t recommend reading The Prince of Mist. It even creeped me out and I have nothing against clowns.

Leave a Reply

