Classics For a New Generation


I do not read enough classics. There are so many classics that I tell myself I need to read, because how am I supposed to write something good if I haven’t read some of the best books out there?

Yesterday I went shopping in the States (like any true-blue Canadian cheap-stake) and found myself browsing through the books at the Bellingham Costco. Of course, being me, I didn’t tell my mom (whom I was shopping with) that I was going to look at books. I have been doing this since I was a kid, not saying anything and just turning around and going off towards what interests me. My mom of course comes up behind me as I’m engulfed in titles and cover art and she says, “Oh, you’re at the books. Of course.”

But I digress, the point here is that I found a few classics newly bound and printed. Now, I can get these books for free as ebooks because their authors haven’t been around in quite some time. However, these IMG-20130306-00271new copies printed with a faux leather cover and bright shiny titles did in fact entice me. I know, I bought into the publisher’s marketing plots.

Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy used books and used book stores. These places are like a treasure hunt in a printed forest. But sadly, I live in a place where the used book store is a money trap and no one wants to open one. All I have is Chapters and Coles all over the place.

While at Costco I also picked up a copy of The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht. This is her debut novel and I love reading debut novels. I wont 200px-The_Tiger's_Wife_(Obreht_novel)_cover_artget around to reading it for some time because I now have 22 purchased but unread books haunting my shelves. I have this terrible habit of buying too many books. Not to mention all the reading I do for that darn Bachelor’s Degree, which, let’s be honest, I haven’t really been doing.

Currently I’m reading The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown. So far, I love it. But a full review will follow my completion of the novel. 

Anywho, it’s back to life. Today is to consist of: one more cup of tea, a much needed work out, a shower to wash away the much needed work out, possible prep for lecture (yeah right Michele), lecture that I don’t pay attention in (who needs to know about science anyways?), kitty cuddles, a job interview, and a good stiff drink with my buddy Pancake. This is a typical day in the life of me. Do you care? Probably not. But hey, it’s evidence that I’m just as human as you! Unless you’re an alien in which case I’ve given you some information on the human being, use it wisely.

One thought on “Classics For a New Generation

  1. Pingback: Books Books Books! | A Real Mummy Diary

Leave a Reply

