DW Countdown: Five Days


Well Lovelies, there are five days, FIVE. Yesterday, I miss counted and thought it was seven, but it was indeed six. I don’t do math well, ok?! I’m excited, if you couldn’t tell.

First off, I’m going to partake in some gossip, which I rarely do but this subject warrants it. So, I heard from the very reliable interweb and this particular article, Matt Smith to leave ‘Doctor Who’ after Christmas, I found out this pertinent information. Why would anyone want to leave Doctor Who?! It baffles me, so let’s hope these sources are wrong, because if they’re not, Smith you’re breaking my heart and are not as clever as I thought you were. 

Anyways, on to the quote of the day. Now, today you get two because I screwed up the date and because the episodes I’m taking these from are a few of my all-time favourites. The first:

Books! People never really stop loving books. 51st century. By now you’ve got holovids, direct to brain downloads, fiction mist, but you need the smell. The smell of books, Donna. Deep breath.

This was said by our own dear Doctor in the eighth episode of the fourth series, titled “Silence in the Library.” 4x08-Silence-in-the-Library-doctor-who-21243289-1600-900Here we will meet Dr. River Song (played by Alex Kingston). At this point we have no idea who River is. When she came up with the eleventh Doctor I had a little freak out and was all up in my screen’s grill about it. But I digress. I love this quote because it gives me hope for my beloved books. I completely agree, I love books for the smell, for their texture, and their feel. Books have an air about them that I love. I have a great distain for screen-based reading devices. It’s not the same and you all know it.

This second quote is also about books:

You want weapons? We’re in a library. Books! Best weapons in the world. This room’s the greatest arsenal we could have. Arm yourself.

Tooth-and-Claw-doctor-who-13076668-500-500This quote, said by the Doctor of course, is from the second episode of the
second series, titled “Tooth and Claw.” It’s one of the first few with Rose (played by Billie Piper) and the Tenth Doctor. I loved Rose as the only companion to love the Doctor. River was different and I approved but I really wasn’t a fan of Martha and her unrequited love for the Doctor, it just always got in the way. I love this quote because it’s true. The more knowledge you have the more you can do. It’s brilliant!

Leave a Reply

