DW Countdown: Two Days


Only two more days! Unfortunately I’ll be working all this long Easter Weekend so I’ll be a little delayed on the actual watching of the episode. But rest assured that the moment I get home from work I’ll be on that within seconds. No hello to the cat, no taking off my shoes.

This is one of my favourite exchanges. It makes me laugh every time I see it (or read it). It’s my beloved David Tennant too, so you know I read it in his voice every time.

The Doctor : And Utopia is…

Yana : Oh, every human knows of Utopia. Where have you been ?

The Doctor : Bit of a hermit.

Yana : A hermit with friends ?

The Doctor : Hermits United. We meet up every ten years. Swap stories about caves. It’s good fun… for a hermit.

This exchange is from the eleventh episode of the third series, titled “Utopia.” dw_utopiaProfessor Yana is played by Derek Jacobi. He’s an amazing actor and the fact that he has been involved with Doctor Who three separate times makes him even more amazing. This episode is all about the end of the universe and the remainder for the human race is trying desperately to make their rocket work so they can fly off to Utopia where “the skies are made of diamonds.” But of course, things don’t go as planned, at least not for the Doctor.

Leave a Reply

