I Wish I Hadn’t Seen You


**Please note: Spoilers ahead.

The other night I went out with Cindy-Lou and we saw Now You See Me. I was excited to see it because a few of my co-workers had told me it lived up to the trailer.

I was not pleased. I had such high hopes for this movie with such a star-studded cast. The first, oh about 40 minutes were interesting, intriguing, and exhilarating. There was a fantastic build-up, but it ended in an absolute anti-climax. I was disappointed.

There was a good twist in the plot, but they heavy handedly added in a random love story that had nothing to do with the plot.

The concept of the movie was great, a mystery trick created by an unknown magician for four random street performers. I even bought into the whole “Eye” secret society. But the end… their last spectacular trick was basically to change into fake money and disappear. Then, then they just magically disappear into an old carousel and that’s it? No explanation except that the whole elaborate show was to avenge the man’s father and that got them into a secret society? Weak, so weak. If it had ended with no real secret society, that the man was just avenging his father and using the faith of these four magicians to do so… now that would have been a better ending. But, I’m guessing hollywood wanted us to sympathize with the man. PAH!

The script feels as if it was good at one point, then either a re-write or a massive edit after filming screwed the pooch and turned this movie with so much potential into a big flop.

It’s not horrible and if you go see it you’ll enjoy the first bit, but honestly don’t waste your money.

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Hadn’t Seen You

  1. I was really annoyed with the “twist” ending. I’m sorry, but … I just didn’t buy that you-know-who was the guy all along. Also … I expected the movie to be about the magicians and their magician antics, and instead most of the movie revolved around that FBI guy. Tsk tsk.

    • I completely understand where you’re coming from. The only reason I didn’t hate the “twist” was because it was the only thing that was thought through. I also expected it to be about the magicians, which would have been a much better movie. The plot was weak at best.

Leave a Reply

