Ruby Sparks: Utterly Enchanting


So here I am, sitting at home on the Sunday night of the long weekend, not quite in the right mind set to write. So I go drifting around the recently added page on Netflix and I come across a movie called Ruby Sparks starring Paul Dano and Zoe Kazan. Not the most intriguing of titles by any means, but I lazily run my curser over the image to see what it’s about. The description reads:

To overcome his writer’s block and his romantic frustrations, a young novelist writes about his dream girl — and is stunned when she comes to life.

I generally love movies about writers and authors and all that. Of course, this is very cliched and stereotypical of me, but hey I’m not perfect. And writers, let’s be honest sometime it is our fondest wish that one of the characters we love that we’ve written would come to life and sweep us off our feet.

The movie filled my heart with joy and amazement, then decided to beat it up some and once it had finished smacking me around a little, torn my heart from my chest and shattered it into a million pieces. I absolutely hated the main character Calvin by the near end of things. But then, in the last five minutes of the movie Calvin redeemed himself and put my heart back together one tiny shard at a time.

This movie was phenomenal. I absolutely loved it. I highly recommend you watch it.

2 thoughts on “Ruby Sparks: Utterly Enchanting

Leave a Reply

