All the Anxious Girls on Earth… Umm, What?


So I just attempted to finished Zsuzsi Gartner’s book of short stories, All the Anxious Girls on Earth and failed. I couldn’t make myself finish it. Sorry Gartner, maybe I just completely missed the point.

I couldn’t stand her writing style, especially in “boys growing.” I understand that every story was written in a different style of a different effect but, blah blah blah. It just wasn’t good.20140206-232046.jpg

The title led me to believe that I would be reading stories about women’s anxieties, but it wasn’t so much their anxieties as their own way of torturing themselves or making themselves victims. I can see how this could be attempting to shed a light on how women treat themselves, but each of these victimizations were generally at the hands of a man that they would succumb to. Gartner just made me hate women and I am a woman… I guess that’s a talent in itself.

So, here’s what I gathered about life from Gartner’s stories: we live in a patriarchal society, but men are the victims because women victimize themselves and put men through hell for it because women blame the men for their troubles, even though it’s the women’s fault. I couldn’t empathize with any of the women. They all just seemed so sad and pathetic. Thanks for making me feel like my sex is worthless Gartner, glad you have so much faith in our abilities.

The only story I kind of liked was “City of my dreams” because I felt that it depicted Vancouver well. Otherwise, I could go without reading these stories, ever again.

I suggest you don’t bother reading it unless you want to hate women. Way to keep feminism alive there Gartner.

Leave a Reply

