The Monuments Men


I took myself out to the movies tonight to see The Monuments Men. Now, I had heard that it wasn’t a good movie, but the trailer still intrigued me so I went anyways. 

I can see why the masses would say that it wasn’t a good movie, by Hollywood standards, it wasn’t. For a war movie there was a serious lack of fighting, lack of explosions, and lack of blood spatter. The trailer had made the movie out to be some epic fight against Hitler. It wasn’t wrong, but the fighting was moral rather than physical.

The best word that I can find to describe the movie over all is “subtle.” I felt like I was watching lives, not a movie. It wasn’t like a documentary by any means, but I felt that it was real. Rarely do I watch a movie that makes me feel as if this could happen. I’m aware that we watch movies to escape life, but because this particular story was based on true events I felt that it was a perfect fit.

The dialogue wasn’t over the top, nor was it overtly witty. The best lines were all in the trailer. I still liked it though. It felt far more raw than any movie I’ve seen in a long time. It was definitely not something I’m used to.

The biggest fault I have to say is the closing scene… what a cliche. I was really disappointed in it. But despite that I still found the movie enjoyable.

I’m not really sure I’ve formed a solid opinion on the movie, I’d have to watch it again. This is one of those rare times where I can’t direct you to watch or avoid the movie, you’ll have to form your own opinion. I guess the best I can do is say that it was a well made movie.

Similar Posts:
Lucia Wilkes Smith, ‘The Monuments Men:’ My Brush with Moviemaking
Movie Breakdown: The Monuments Men (Noah)
THE MONUMENTS MEN Entertains Despite Muddled Message
The Monuments Men

Leave a Reply

